World Bank Live Chat: Arab Voices and Views, March 21 | World Bank Institute (WBI)

The World Bank Institute (WBI) is a global connector of knowledge, learning and innovation for poverty reduction. We connect practitioners and institutions to help them find suitable solutions to their development challenges. With a focus on the "how" of reform, we link knowledge from around the world and scale up innovations. Read More »

World Bank Live Chat: Arab Voices and Views, March 21

Watch LiveExperts will address questions during the live webcast discussion on March 21, beginning at 9:00 a.m. EDT / 13:00 GMT.

In the past three months, people across the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) have taken to the streets to demand – and in some cases obtain – change. Growing aspirations of youth in MENA regarding economic opportunities and political rights very quickly raised the bar for what governments need to do.

To shed light on the implications of these changes and opportunities in the region and its inclusion in a global economy, the World Bank will host a discussion titled Arab Voices and Views on March 21, 2011 from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m EDT/ 13:00 to 17:00 GMT. The event will be held at Bank headquarters in Washington, D.C. and live online.

The forum will bring together a group of thinkers, practitioners, commentators, and change agents from the region. The event will include two panels, one on Equity in Access to Jobs and a second on Use of New Media for Social Accountability.

The event will be webcast via World Bank Live and will be accompanied by a simultaneous, online chat, where you can interact with the experts. Simultaneous translation will be provided in English and Arabic.

Here’s how you can participate:

Watch the Webcast
Experts will address questions during the live webcast discussion on March 21, beginning at 9:00 a.m. EDT / 13:00 GMT.

Rabat: 13h00 - 16h00
Paris: 14h00 - 17h00
Algiers: 14h00 - 17h00
Cairo: 15h00 - 18h00
Beirut: 15h00 - 18h00
Mecca: 16h00 - 19h00

Join the Global Chat
We’ll run an online chat from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. EDT/ 13:00 to 17:00 GMT. Join the discussion (in Arabic and English) on recent changes in the Middle East and North Africa, focusing on Access to Jobs and Use of New Media for Social Accountability.

Spread the Word
Tell your friends and colleagues about the event and invite them to join you in the discussion.

Follow us On Twitter
Ask questions and follow the conversation on Twitter using #wblive.

Submit Questions to Experts
Submit your questions via this link in advance for our expert panels.
 

This event is a joint collaboration by the External Affairs, MENA and World Bank Institute (WBI) Vice Presidential Units of the World Bank.